.Wompatuck Ice Breaker



APRIL 29, 2007 -HINGHAM, MA– This was it, opening day of the 2007 New England control line combat season. Conditions were cloudy and cool with a light breeze, a good day for combat. Nine New England pilots were on hand to get the season off to a good start. We were ready for four rounds of Formula GX Combat action.

Round one saw Ken Hargreaves get off to the best start posting a three cut to one win over Shay Vader. Round two started with Ken and Neil Simpson mid-airing. Meanwhile, Rick Clark got a two cut win while Joe Fustolo posted a three cut win to set the pace with two round totals in the 1100 point range. Round three saw Rick get a two cut to one win over Joe to move into the contest lead. Ken Hargreaves also moved back into contention with a two cut win over Paul Kubek while Glenn Simpson posted a thee cut win of his own.

Going into round four Rick had 1860 points followed by Ken (1655pts), Glenn (1630pts), Joe (1330pts) and Shay Vader (1305pts). The final two matches of the contest seemed destined to determine the outcome. In the first of these Glenn Simpson and Joe Fustolo flew to a one cut apiece draw, both pilots flying very well.  Next, Ken Hargreaves and Rick Clark had a war with Ken earning the contest win two cuts to one.  When the scores were tabulated, the final order of finish was Ken Hargreaves in first, Rick Clark was second, Glenn Simpson was third and Joe Fustolo fourth. On  this day Shaylene Vader was the Sportsman division winner.

Thank You to all who shared in the judging and a special thanks to Rick Clark who CD’ed the event, secured the site and did all the great prep work that made this a fun contest.

Wompatuck Ice Breaker - Formula GX Combat
9 Contestants (7 from MA) (2 from NH)
18 Matches - 6 mid airs

(A) Ken Hargreaves-Worcester, MA2380pts
(A) Rick Clark-Hingham, MA  2260pts
(E) Glenn Simpson-Worcester, MA2140pts
(E) Joe Fustolo-Stoughton, MA     1840pts
(A) Paul Kubek-Brockton, MA       1835pts
(S) Shaylene Vader-Franklin, NH  1305pts
(E) Neil Simpson-East Brookfield, MA   1230pts
(A) Jeff Vader-Franklin, NH           1100pts
(A) Brian Stas-Kingston, MA         900pts

The trophy winners were Ken Hargreaves (1st), Rick Clark (2nd)
Glenn Simpson (3rd), Joe Fustolo (4th)
Shaylene Vader ( 1st Sportsman )

below photos coutesy of Jeff Vader
Added a few more photos, below, courtesy of Joe Fustolo