Wompatuck Fall Fly-Off

NOVEMBER 6, 2005 – HINGHAM, MA – Again this year the Wompatuck State Forest in Hingham, Massachusetts was chosen as the site for our annual post-season contest. In addition to being a great late season Formula GX event, this post season contest has become the forum at which the top finishers in the New England season point championships receive their awards. The weather was Seasonably warm, with temperatures peaking in the low sixties. There was a high overcast and no wind, a perfect day for combat. This year’s event attracted eleven New England pilots, to draw down the curtain on a very successful year 2005 Formula GX season.

Round one saw Shaylene Vader, Joe Fustolo and Neil Simpson get off to the best starts each posting 830 point round one wins.  In round two Neil stayed hot with yet another three cut win. Meanwhile Glenn Simpson and Paul Kubek moved into contention posting good round two scores. At the halfway point Neil had the lead with Shay, Joe, Glenn and Paul in a virtual four way tie for second. Round three started with a good match between Joe and Neil that ended in one cut apiece draw. Ken Hargreaves then got his second good win in a row, this one over Dick Sherman, to move into the hunt. Going into round four Neil had 2170 points, Glenn had 1740 points, Joe had 1640ponts and Ken had 1540 points. Four other pilots had 1430 points. Early in round four Rick Clark used a three cut win to post the clubhouse lead. In the semi-final match Joe earned a two cuts to one win over Ken Hargreaves. In the final Neil and Glenn Simpson squared off in a match that ended in a one cut apiece draw. The final order of finish was Neil, Joe, Rick and  Glenn.  Shaylene Vader took home the Spotsman “gold”.
Thank You, from everyone, to Rick Clark, who secured permission to use the site and also cd’ed the event. Also, Thanks go out to all the guys who helped judge the matches, not just on this day, but all year long. 

Wompatuck Fall Fly-Off
11 contestants ( 9 from MA,  2 from NH )
22 matches - 4 mid-airs

(E) Neil Simpson/E. Brookfield, MA2680pts
(E) Joe Fustolo/Stoughton, MA      2365pts
(A) Rick Clark/Hingham, MA          2260pts
(E) Glenn Simpson/Worcester, MA2250pts
(A) Paul Kubek/Brockton, MA       1850pts
(A) Brian Stas/Kingston, MA         1845pts
(A) Ken Hargreaves/Worcester, MA       1840pts
(S) Shaylene Vader/Franklin, NH   1830pts
(A) Jeff Vader/Franklin, NH            1530pts
(S) “Lil Sherm”/Andover, MA          1500pts
(E) Dick Sherman/Andover, MA     1420pts

photos courtesy of Ken Hargreaves
Glenn Simpson and Dick Sherman
Joe Fustolo
The trophy winners were Neil Simpson (1st), Joe Fustolo (2nd), Rick Clark (3rd),
Glenn Simpson (4th) and Shaylene Vader (1st-sportsman)
Rick Clark and Shay Vader
Paul Kubek
Neil Simpson
Shay Vader and "Lil Sherm"
Neil Simpson and Joe Fustolo
Paul Kubek and Neil Simpson
Rick Clark and Jeff Vader
Joe Fustolo and Dick Sherman
Jeff Vader and Brian Stas