Salmon River Shootout




SEPTEMBER 5, 2010 – WORCESTER, MA –  Today was to have been the time and place for this year’s New England Championships. Due to a disappointing advance registration the New England Championships were postponed until October seventeenth, at this same location, in hopes of a more respectable turnout. The rained out portion of the Salmon River Shootout was inserted in its’ place to accommodate the people who could make it. Ten New England combat pilots eventually turned out and although the day was perfect, otherwise, the winds were quite strong following the aftermath of hurricane “Earl”. The winds were steady at about 25mph gusting at times to almost twice that.

Neil Simpson and Paul Kubek got off to the best starts each posting one cut wins, Neil over Lloyd Seymour and Paul over Kevin Seymour. Round two started with Neil earning a one cut win over Paul. Later in round two Lloyd got a two cut win over young Richard Sherman to get himself back in the hunt. Matt Stas earned a two cut win over Glenn Simpson to move himself into contention as well. Going into round three Neil had the lead followed by Lloyd, Paul and Matt. In the first match Lloyd got a one cut win over Paul while Matt defeated Neil by the same measure. Also, in round three, Dave Parizo, who had gotten off to a slow start, jumped into contention with a two cut win over Glenn. Going into round four Lloyd had the lead followed by Matt, Neil and Dave. It would stay just that way as first Neil and Dave and then Lloyd and Matt flew to low scoring draws. Young Richard Sherman, who finished fifth overall, won a day long battle with Kevin Seymour to earn the “Sportsman Division” win.

It was good to see Dave Parizo, as well as Lloyd and Kevin Seymour, flying with us for the first time in a long time.

As always thanks to all the guys who shared the judging.

Salmon River Shootout
Worcester, MA
Formula GX Combat
10 contestants (all from MA)
19 matches –four  mid airs

(E) Lloyd Seymour, Leominster, MA2055pts
(A) Matt Stas-Kingston, MA    1855pts
(E) Neil Simpson-East Brookfield, MA     1850pts
(E) Dave Parizo, Easthampton, MA 1845pts
(S) Richard Sherman, Andover MA  1640pts
(E) Glenn Simpson-Worcester, MA 1525pts
(E) Brian Stas-Kingston, MA          1230pts
(A) Paul Kubek-Brockton, MA        1220pts
(S) Kevin Seymour, Leominster, MA       1100pts
(E) Dick Sherman, Andover, MA      400pts   (withdrew after two rounds)

The trophy winners were Lloyd Seymour (1st) , Matt Stas (2nd), Neil Simpson (3rd)
and Richard Sherman (1st Sportsman)
We found these two guys sleeping, under a park bench, when we arrived at the field.
Nobody knows who they are or where they might be sleeping tonight.