Salmon River Clash



JUNE 5, 2005 – EAST HAMPTON, CT– Ten New England Formula GX combat flyers assembled in East Hampton, Connecticut, at the Salmon River State Forest, for the annual running of  “The Salmon River Clash”.  Weather conditions were hot with temps in the low nineties, sunny skies and reasonable humidity.

Round one was low scoring with Ken Hargreaves and Glenn Simpson setting the pace with 620 point wins. In round two Ken and Glenn faced off. They were tied with one cut apiece when a mid-air occurred just prior to the end of the match. Meanwhile Neil Simpson and Rick Clark had put together good round two wins and emerged as the leaders at the halfway mark. In the first two matches of round three Neil and Rick flew Ken and Glenn, respectively, in matches that ended in one cut apiece draws. Meanwhile Dana Lord was flying steady and looking very much like a contender. Going into round four it was Neil with 1850 points followed by Rick (1745 pts), Dana (1640pts) with Glenn and Ken at 1530 points. Early in round four Jeff Vader got a three cut win over  Shaylene Vader to earn the clubhouse lead. In the semi-final match Rick and Ken faced off with Ken getting a cut early. Shortly after that Rick crashed due to a control system failure giving Ken the one cut win in the process. In the finals Neil and Dana faced off in a match that started slow and then picked up momentum. The final two minutes had plenty of action with Neil getting a cut in the final minute to earn the match and contest win.  Shaylene Vader got the sportsman win. Young Shay is  really flying well making her opponents earn every cut.

Thank You to everyone who shared  in the judging.

Salmon River Clash - Formula GX Combat
10 Contestants (6 from MA) (2 from CT) (2 from NH)
20 Matches-4 mid-airs

(E) Neil Simpson - E.Brookfield,MA  2470pts
(A) Ken Hargreaves - Worcester, MA2150pts
(A) Jeff Vader - Franklin, NH     2040pts
(A) Dana Lord - Colchester, CT 1940pts
(A) Rick Clark - Hingham, MA  1845pts
(E) Will Rogers - E.Hartford, CT1835pts
(E) Glenn Simpson  - Worcester, MA       1730pts
(A) Brian Stas - Kingston, MA  1730pts
(A) Paul Kubek - Brockton, MA1410pts
(S) Shaylene Vader - Franklin, NH   1410pts

Glenn Simpson and Brian Stas
The trophy winners are Neil Simpson (1st),
Ken Hargreaves (2nd), Jeff Vader (3rd),
Dana Lord (4th) and Shaylene Vader (1st sportsman)
Neil Simpson and Dana Lord in the final match.
Shaylene and Jeff Vader
Jeff Vader and Brian Stas
Shay and Jeff - final round action
Jeff Vader and Will Rogers
Ernie Carosella and Dana Lord have Dana's entry ready for action
Photos courtesy of Ken Hargreaves