Len Minick Memorial Combat Challenge


JUNE 26, 2005 - EASTHAMPTON, MA – This was the third annual Len Minick Memorial Combat Challenge held in tribute to and in memory of our good friend and fellow competitor. There was rain, on the drive in, which stopped before the first match but by the third round it was back, on and off, for the balance of the day. The weather held down attendance for this one, however, those combt faithful that made the trip enjoyed a  day of very enjoyable, competitive matches.

Round one saw Will Rogers and Conrad Wondolowskii both get off to good starts posting one cut wins.  In the first match of round two Will stayed hot earning a one cut win over Conrad, meanwhile Neil Simpson and Ken Hargreaves climed into contention, both, posting good round two wins. At the halfway point it was Will (1240pts), Neil (930pts) with Conrad and Ken both with 920 points. In the first match of round three Will and Ken mid aired hurting both their cumulative scores. In the next match Neil just squeaked out a win over Conrad. Glenn Simpson was flying very steady and going into round four he was also in contention. Going into the final round it was Neil (1450 pts), Will (1440pts), Glenn (1330pts), and Conrad (1120pts). In round four Conrad and Jeff Vader as well as Will and Glenn flew to one cut apiece draws. In the final match Ken got an airtime win over Neil. The final order of finish was Will (1950pts), Glenn (1840pts), Neil (1650pts) and Conrad (1630pts).

Thank You to everyone won braved the elements and made this a good contest. Thank You, in particular, to Ernie Carosella, who came out on a less then perfect day, to do the majority of the judging. This was also the first time, this season, we enjoyed Will Roger’s parrticipation. Good to have you flying with us, Will.

Len Minick Memorial Combat Challenge
6 contestants (5 from MA) (1 from NH)
12 matches (1 mid air )

(E) Will Rogers-E.Hartford, CT1950pts
(E) Glenn Simpson-Worcester, MA 1840pts
(E) Neil Simpson-E.Brookfield, MA 1650pts
(A) Conrad Wondolowski-Paxton, MA    1630pts
(A) Ken Hargreaves-Worcester, MA1540pts
(A) Jeff Vader-Franklin, NH     1520pts

Conrad Wodolowski and Glenn Simpson
Ken Hargreaves and Glenn
The trophy winners are Will Rogers (1st), Glenn Simpson (2nd),
Neil Simpson (3rd) and Conrad Wondolowski (4th).
Photos courtesy of Jeff Vader
Battle of the Barracudas
Head Judge Ernie Carosella chats with Dana Lord between matches.
Conrad Wondolowski and Will Rogers
Conrad's Cuda