Granite State Invitational


May 4, 2008 – FRANKLIN, NH – The Granite State Invitational is the first of  two contests scheduled to be held in Franklin, New Hampshire this season. Seven contestants were on hand for this event hosted and cd’ed by Jeff Vader.  Jeff, as he always does, had coffee and doughnuts waiting for everyone as we arrived.   Weather conditions were just terrible right up until the 10:00 am start time when the rain let up and then stopped leaving us cloudy and cool but very glad to be dry. All and all not a bad day for combat.

Round one saw Matt Stas and Neil Simpson post three cut wins both getting off to fast starts. In round two they faced each other and mid-aired early bringing them both back towards the field. Meanwhile Jeff Vader earned a two cuts to one round two win over Paul Kubek. This was his second win and with it he assumed the contest lead. In round three Neil got past Jeff with a one cut win. Matt and Brian Stas flew to a one cut apiece draw while Paul Kubek and Glenn Simpson flew to a one cut apiece draw, as well. Going into the final round it was Neil with 1650 points followed by Matt (1445pts), Jeff (1345pts), Brian(1220pts) and Paul (1210pts). In round four Paul got a two cut win over Shay Vader to move into contention . In the semi-final Jeff and Matt mid-aired knocking each other out of contention. In the final Brian earned a one cut win over Neil moving himself into a trophy spot. When it all sorted out Neil held on for the win followed by Paul and  Brian.

Shaylene Vader, on this day, took home the sportsman “gold”.
Thank You to everyone who shared  in the judging and Thank You to the Vaders for a yet another good contest.

Granite State Invitational - Formula GX Combat
7 Contestants (5 from MA) (2 from NH)
14 Matches-3 mid-airs

(E) Neil Simpson - E.Brookfield,MA1950pts
(A) Paul Kubek-Brockton, MA1935pts
(A) Brian Stas - Kingston, MA1840pts
(E) Glenn Simpson  - Worcester, MA     1735pts
(A) Matt Stas - Kingston, MA 1640pts
(A) Jeff Vader - Franklin, NH   1545pts
(S) Shaylene Vader - Franklin, NH  1115pts

The trophy winners were Neil Simpson (1st), Paul Kubek (2nd), Brian Stas (3rd)
and Shaylene Vader (1st-Sportsman).

photos below courtesy of Jeff Vader