Fall Finale

OCTOBER 19, 2008 – WORCESTER, MA -Thirteen contestants were on hand for this, the twentieth annual running of the Fall Finale Combat Tournament at Boynton Park in Worcester, Massachusetts. This contest was the eleventh and final stop on this year’s New England Formula GX circuit, the end of the 2008 regular season. The weather was cool and breezy with temperatures toping out in the fifties.

The best starts in round one were Paul Kubek, Brian Stas and Neil Simpson all posting 725 point wins. Lloyd Seymour was just off that pace with a 620 point win of his own. Round two saw Brian and Paul fly to a 410 point draw while Neil and Lloyd flew to 510 point draw.  Meanwhile, Richard Sherman and Roy Glenn each posted their second good scores of the contest. In round three Neil and  Richard flew to a 410 point draw while Lloyd stayed  hot posting a two cut win over Paul. In the next match Brian and Roy had an exciting match that ended in a mid-air late. Round three also saw Aaron Seymour post his third good score of the contest moving himself into contention. Going into the final round it was Lloyd with 1855 points followed by Richard and Neil (1645pts), Aaron (1550pts), Brian (1540pts), Roy (1340pts) and Paul (1335pts). Early in round four Roy posted a one cut win over Paul. In the very next match Brian posted a two cut win over Kevin Seymour. In the next match Neil and Aaron flew to a low scoring draw. In the final Lloyd got a one cut win over Richard. When the dust settled Lloyd was the clear winner followed by Brian, Neil, Roy and Aaron. Aaron, who ended up in fifth place took home the sportsman division win in the process.

Fall Finale Combat Tournament -Formula GX Combat
13 contestants ( 9 from MA ) ( 3 from NH ) ( 1 from NJ )
26 matches ( 2 mid-airs  )

(E) Lloyd Seymour-Leominster, MA2475pts
(A) Brian Stas-Kingston, MA  2265pts
(E) Neil Simpson-East Brookfield, MA    2055pts
(E) Roy Glenn-Southamton, NJ      1960pts  won fly-off *
(S) Aaron Seymour-Leominster, MA       1960pts  lost fly-off *
(S) Richard Sherman-Andover, MA 1945pts
(A) Paul Kubek-Brockton, MA        1635pts
(S) Kevin Seymour-Leominster, MA       1320pts
(E) Jim Carpenter, N. Salem, NH    1240pts
(S) Ralph Gonzalez-Haverhill, MA   1230pts
(A) Jeff Vader-Franklin, NH            1230pts
(S) Jake Vader-Franklin, NH          1200pts
(E) Glenn Simpson-Worcester, MA  700pts

The trophy winners were Lloyd Seymour( 1st ), Brian Seymour ( 2nd ), Neil Simpson ( 3rd )
and Aaron Seymour ( 1st Sportsman )

photos below compliments of Jeff Vader