Eastern Mass Invitational


JUNE 10, 2007- KINGSTON, MA - eight contestants were on hand for this year’s Eastern Mass Invitational. The weather was sunny and quite warm but a strong to moderate breeze kept us cool and made this a great day for Formula GX combat.

In round one action  Neil Simpson set the pace with 725 points, however, Dick Sherman, Jeff Vader, Shay Vader and Paul Kubek, were all in close pursuit. Round two saw Neil stay hot with a one cut win over Dick. Meanwhile, Jeff and Paul both posted good round two scores to stay very much in the hunt. In round three Neil just got past Paul with a one cut win while Jeff did likewise in a match with Dick.  

Going into round four it was Neil with 1965 points followed by Jeff (1865pts), Paul (1640pts) and Glenn Simpson (1550pts). This contest would come down to the final two flights. In the first of these flights Paul and Glenn flew to a low scoring draw. The “gold” would be decided in the final match between Jeff Vader and Neil Simpson.  Jeff needed a win , while Neil could take home the contest win with a win or a draw. Jeff got an early cut, shortly after that Neil took everthing but the string to even the match. Neil then ran and ran and ran until the final buzzer preserving the tie and the contest win in the process.  The final order of finish was Neil (2475pts), Jeff (2375pts), Paul (1950pts), and Glenn (1860pts). Young Richard Sherman won a close day-long battle with Shay Vader to take home the Sportsman “gold”.

Thank You to Brian Stas, who secured the site and cd’ed this event. Thank You, also, to  Carol Stas for inviting us back to her home and feeding all of us after the contest. Carol, great spread as usual.

Eastern Mass Championships
Formula GX Combat
8 Contestants (6 from MA) (2 from NH)
16 matches -no mid airs

(E) Neil Simpson-East Brookfield, MA    2475pts
(A) Jeff Vader-Franklin, NH     2375pts
(A) Paul Kubek-Brockton, MA1950pts
(E) Glenn Simpson-Worcester, MA1860pts
(A) Brian Stas-Kingston, MA  1750pts
(E) Dick Sherman-Andover, MA      1745pts
(S) Richard Sherman-Andover, MA  1400pts
(S) Shaylene Vader-Franklin, NH    1310pts

The trophy winners were Neil Simpson (1st), Jeff Vader (2nd), Richard Sherman ( 1st Sportsman),
Paul Kubek (3rd) and Glenn Simpson (4th).
Photos below coutesy of Gail Kubek
Photos below coutesy of Jeff Vader